Home / About TAOP / Leadership


Board of Trustees
The Board of Trustees is composed of a Chair of the Board, President, President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer and twelve (12) society trustees.  Each Trustee is elected by their optometric society for a term of two years.

Advocacy Committees
The TAOP has a number of committees focused around specific topics that affect optometrists.  Committee members are volunteers that donate their time and effort to improving the various aspects of optometry and the Association.

O.D. of the Year
Every year TAOP members are nominated by their colleagues for the OD of the Year and Young OD of the Year Awards. These nominees are individuals whose commitment to excellence and outstanding contributions embody the goals, visions and achievements of the TAOP. The OD of the Year is selected based on his or her efforts to fulfill the goals of the association, support the profession of optometry and the local community and promote the visual welfare of the public.

Young O.D. of The Year
Though young in their practice, nominees for the Young OD of the Year award are maximizing their potential and working to make a difference in the profession of optometry.

Executive Board:


Laura Sechler, OD

President Elect

Stephanie Price, OD


Wayne Connell, OD

Chairwoman of the Board

Emily Eisenhower-Baxter, OD

Board of Trustees:

Duck River Optometric Physician Society:

Rob Szeliga, OD

East TN Optometric Physician Society:

Hal Phillips, OD

Middle TN Optometric Physician Society:

Kat Brasfield, OD

NorthEast TN Optometric Physician Society:

Dana Grist, OD

NorthWest TN Optometric Physician Society:

Lisa Privett, OD

SECO Representative:

Trish Walker, OD

SouthEast TN Optometric Physician Society:

Heather Purman, OD 

SmokyMtn Optometric Physician Society:

Amanda Dellinger, OD

Upper Cumberland Optometric Physician Society:

Stephen Mullins, OD

West TN Optometric Physician Society:

Brian Knight, OD

Southern College of Optometry (Faculty):

Dave Maze, OD

Southern College of Optometry (President):

Lewis Reich, OD

Advocacy Committees

Political Action Committee (PAC)
Sam Winston, OD

Special Olympics Committee (SOC)
Chair: Jeremy Diamond, OD

Third Party Center (TPC)
Director: Zachary McCarty, OD

Diamond Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

President's Sponsors

Gold Sponsors